Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Tipperary hold on to crown

Tipperary retained the Munster SHC title with a 2-17 to 0-16 win over Waterford at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

John O'Brien's first half goal saw Tipp come from behind to go level at 1-7 to 0-10 at the halfway stage.

With John Mullane and Maurice Shanahan in terrific form up front, Waterford pushed the holders all the way, but the game swung irreversibly in favour of the Premier county when Shane Bourke netted their second goal in the 57th minute.

Mayo won their 43rd Connacht SFC title with a 0-12 to 0-10 win over Sligo, but they failed to impress at Hyde Park, where the Yeatsmen came close to causing a shock.

James Horan's side lacked fluency and conviction, but with the help of a second half dig-out from the bench, they did just about enough to avoid a shock defeat.

Aidan O'Shea was the man who made the biggest impact from the bench, giving Mayo a massive lift at midfield in the final half-hour as they finally began to look like a side on a mission.

Two points each from Alan Costello and Adrian Marren helped wind-assisted Sligo to a 0-5 to 0-5 to 0-3 interval lead. But Mayo stepped up their performance after the break, and scores from Cillian O'Connor, Andy Moran, Barry Moran and Aidan O'Shea helped them shade a second half which saw the scores level on four occasions.

Kerry came close to suffering a shock defeat to Westmeath in a dramatic All-Ireland SFC Qualifier clash at Mullingar.

David Glennon netted a penalty early in the second half to send the Leinster men into a 1-9 to 1-3 lead, but the Kingdom fought their way back with a goal from substitute Darran O'Sullivan, and held on to win by 2-10 to 1-12.

Laois defeated Monaghan by 2-12 to 0-12 with the help of first half goals from Colm Kelly and Brendan Quigley.

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph