Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Tipperary maintain winning streak

Tipperary added the All-Ireland Under-21 title to their Liam McCarthy Cup triumph by routing by 5-22 to 0-12 Galway at Semple Stadium.

Goals from Brian O'Meara, John O'Dwyer and Sean Carey inside the opening quarter helped Tipp to a 12 points lead, and they led by 3-7 to 0-9 at the interval.

Patrick Maher and Noel McGrath added further goals in the second half, and goalkeeper James Logue produced three superb saves to keep a clean sheet.

Galway finished with 14 men after centre forward Niall Quinn received a straight red card seven minutes from the end.


From Belfast Telegraph