Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Tipperary's record nominations

Fourteen of the Tipperary team that started the All-Ireland final against Kilkenny have been nominated for All-Star awards.

The player to lose out is wing back Conor O'Mahony, despite a string of consistent performances on the way to Liam McCarthy Cup success.

Beaten finalists Kilkenny have 11 nominations, while Galway, Waterford and Cork each received six.

All-Star Hurling nominations are as follows:

Goalkeepers: Brendan Cummins (Tipperary); Donal Og Cusack (Cork); Clinton Hennessey (Waterford).

Full-backs: Michael Cahill (Tipperary); Ollie Canning (Galway); Noel Connors (Waterford); Paul Curran (Tipperary); John Dalton (Kilkenny); Shane Kavanagh (Galway); Shane O'Neill (Cork); Paddy Stapleton (Tipperary); Jackie Tyrell (Kilkenny).

Half-backs: Tony Browne (Waterford); Ronan Curran (Cork); JJ Delaney (Kilkenny); Declan Fanning (Tipperary); John Gardiner (Cork); Padraic Maher (Tipperary); Tony Og Regan (Galway); Micheal Walsh (Waterford); Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny).

Midfield: Ger Farragher (Galway); Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny); Brendan Maher (Tipperary); Shane McGrath (Tipperary); Shane O'Sullivan (Waterford); Michael Rice (Kilkenny).

Half-forwards: Lar Corbett (Tipperary); Damien Hayes (Galway); Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny); Patrick Maher (Tipperary); Niall McCarthy (Cork); Noel McGrath (Tipperary); TJ Reid (Kilkenny); Gearoid Ryan (Tipperary); Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny).

Full-forwards: Joe Canning (Galway); Shane Dooley (Offaly); Aidan Fogarty (Kilkenny); Patrick Horgan (Cork); Eoin Kelly (Tipperary); John Mullane (Waterford); John O'Brien (Tipperary); Richie Power (Kilkenny); Liam Watson (Antrim).


From Belfast Telegraph