Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Trials are ruled out

By Declan Bogue

The Central Competition's Committee have decided not to use this weekend's Inter-Provincial series as a basis to trial a number of experimental rules.

However, considering that the competition is played over the space of just two days, the rule of allowing nine substitutions will be granted.

An Ulster Council spokesman said; "The three issues that were up for discussion were the nine substitutions. That was agreed to go ahead with that.

"The other two were the solo free to restart play and the 'mark'.

"Both were discussed and unanimously agreed not to go ahead with it at the minute."

Pete McGrath's squad was announced at the launch of the Dr McKenna Cup, and will have no Donegal players represented. Derry will have two Slaughtneil players.

ULSTER SQUAD: Niall McKeever (Antrim), Aaron Findon and Tony Kernan, Cavan's Raymond Galligan and Gearoid McKiernan (all Armagh), Chrissy McKaigue and Brendan Rogers (both Derry), Kevin McKernan, Mark Poland, Donal O'Hare and Conor Laverty (all Down), Tomás Corrigan, Eoin Donnelly, Barry Mulrone and Sean Quigley (all Fermanagh), Dessie Mone, Karl O'Connell, Colin Walshe and Drew Wylie (Monaghan), Colm Cavanagh, Sean Cavanagh, Mattie Donnelly, Peter Harte and Niall Morgan (all Tyrone).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph