Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Two more Ulster Schools' Hurling All-Stars at St Mary's

By Declan Bogue

Just four players from the Mageean Cup final played at Halloween - when St Mary's Belfast beat St Killian's Garron Tower 3-17 to 0-9 - have made the Danske Bank Ulster Schools' Hurling All-Stars team.

Even with the St Mary's boys winning each and every competition they entered as they came up through the age ranks, it says something for the levelling out of standards that only defender Aodhán O'Brien and midfielder CJ McKenna have been selected as All-Stars following the trial matches.

Despite only adding another two All-Stars, the west Belfast school, managed by former Antrim dual star and teacher Paddy Cunningham, remain top of the leaderboard for College All-Stars with 30, which is seven more than second-placed St Patrick's Maghera.

Rathmore's Donal McKernan is the only player to earn back-to-back All-Stars after also featuring in last year's selection.

The full Danske Bank Ulster Schools' Hurling All-Stars team is as follows: 1. Sean Kelly (St Patrick's, Dungiven); 2. Tom Murray (OLASP Knock), 3. Corey Blair (C&P Ballycastle), 4. Conor Kinsella (St Louis Ballymena); 5. Ryan McGarry (St Louis Ballymena), 6. Conor Boyd (C&P Ballycastle) 7. Aodhán O'Brien (St Mary's CBS); 8. Ed McQuillan (St Killian's Garron Tower), 9. CJ McKenna (St Mary's CBS); 10.Peter Loughran (OLASP Knock), 11. Daniel Black (St Killian's Garron Tower), 12.Paul Green (St Patrick's Keady); 13. Ronan Costello (Aquinas Grammar), 14. Donal McKernan (Rathmore), 15. Peter McCailin (Colaiste Feirste).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph