Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Tyrone 0-12 Donegal 0-06

Ulster U21 Football Championship

Tyrone are through to a Cadburys Ulster U21 Championship semi-final against Down after a double scores win over Donegal at Healy Park last night.

The Red Hands were the better side throughout and will feel they can go all the way and win their first title at this level in six years.

Tyrone will face the Mourne County in a fortnight while Derry take on holders Cavan in the other semi-final.

The home side led 0-7 to 0-2 at the break but should have been a lot further in front as they kicked an alarming 10 wides during the opening period.

As expected the hosts fielded without team captain Ronan O’Neill due to a knee injury with John McCullagh taking his place in attack and Richard Donnelly coming into midfield in place of Harry Og Conlon.

Darren McCurry opened the scoring in the second minute before Donnelly doubled their advantage after four minutes.

Tyrone were well on top at this stage but despite dominating in terms of possession they only added another score in the opening period with a fine individual effort from Sean Warnock.

McCurry was proving to be a real thorn in the Donegal defence and he added a point from play as well as one from a long range free before the visitors finally opened their account in the 29th minute with a fisted point from Dermot Molloy.

Donnelly then landed his second point before McCurry cut in from the right wing to hit a superb score.

It was Donegal who had the final say of the first half with a brilliant point by senior star Patrick McBrearty from out on the left wing.

Donegal came into it more in the second half and they closed the gap with scores from Shaun McGarvey and McBrearty as Tyrone appeared to tire.

In the closing stages though the Red Hands found a new lease of life with McCurry taking his personal haul to five points and Thomas Canavan and Conor McAliskey on target as well as they triumphed by half a dozen in the end.

Tyrone: D McAnenly, B Tierney, D McNally, HP McGeary, N Sludden, S Warnock (0-1), T McCann, R Donnelly (0-2), C Clarke (0-1), S Tierney (0-1), T Canavan (0-1), B McGarvey, D McCurry (0-5), C McAliskey (0-1), J McCullagh. Subs: P Mallon for McGarvey, S McGuigan for McCullagh, C Grugan for Tierney, H Conlon for Warnock, C Daly for McAliskey.

Donegal: P Boyle, K McFadden, C Cannon, P Carr, T McKinley, P Devine, C Gallagher, L Keeney, S Coyle, C Ellis, M O’Reilly, M McEniff, S McGarvey (0-2), P McBrearty (0-3), D Molloy (0-1). Subs: D McGeever for Coyle, S Friel for Ellis, O McGinty for McEniff.

Referee: M McErlane (Derry).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph