Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Tyrone tinker in a bid to dislodge Cork

By Declan Bogue

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has made only two alterations to the side that beat Westmeath so convincingly in the last round of the National League as he prepares to take another trip to Munster to face Cork on Sunday.

Conor Clarke is gone from his right-half back slot after having picked up a knock and he is not named among the matchday squad. His place instead goes to Killyclogher's Tiernan McCann.

Darren McCurry, who missed out the last day as he was rested for the Under-21 Championship meeting with Cavan, returns to a starting berth, with a reshuffle among the forward line placing Mark Donnelly at wing-forward, ousting Conan Grugan.

Likewise, there are two switches to the Derry side who expect to nail their place in the league semis with a home win when they face Jason Ryan's Kildare.

Brian McIver has handed a first ever inter-county start to Ballinderry's Gareth McKinless, who comes in for Mark Craig at corner-back.

Among the attacking ranks, Emmet McGuckin returns from an injured hamstring that kept him out of the victory over Dublin to take his place at full-forward at the expense of Declan Mullan.

Daniel Heavron returns to the matchday squad after recovering from a cruciate injury sustained on club duty for Magherafelt.

Despite losing to Monaghan by 10 points in their last outing at home, Armagh manager Paul Grimley has largely kept faith with his side as they prepare to visit Galway in Tuam.

The only change to the team is Kevin Dyas coming in the half-forward line while Ruairi Grugan drops to the bench.

There is a senior Antrim debut for goalkeeper Ronan Hanna.

TYRONE (NFL V Cork): N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, R McKenna; T McCann, Matthew Donnelly, P Harte; C Cavanagh, S Cavanagh (Capt); C McGinley, S McGuigan, Mark Donnelly; D McCurry, K Coney, C McAliskey

DERRY (NFL V Kildare): T Mallon; G McKinless, C McKaigue, D McBride; K Johnston, G O'Kane, SL McGoldrick; F Doherty, P Bradley; C McFaul, M Lynch (Capt), E Lynn; B Herron, E McGuckin, C O'Boyle

ARMAGH (NFL V Galway): P McEvoy; P Hughes, A Findon, M Murray; M Shields, A Mallon, P O'Neill; S Harold, E Rafferty; T Kernan, K Dyas, C Rafferty; J Clarke (Capt), S Campbell, S Forker

ANTRIM (NFL V London): R Hanna; K O'Boyle, R Johnston, N Delargy; T Scullion, M Johnston, J Crozier; N McKeever (Capt), S McVeigh; C Murray, M Sweeney, P McBride; B Neeson, M McCann, M Pollock

ARMAGH (NHL V Fingal): S Doherty; C Devlin, C Clifford, M Garvey; L McKee, N Curry, S Reneghan; F Bradley, P Gaffney; C Carvill, J Corvan, K McKernan; M Lennon, D Coulter, C Corvan

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph