Belfast Telegraph

Sports Awards

Home Sport GAA Tyrone

Errigal Ciaran and Omagh head to final

By Kevin Kelly

The Tyrone championship final will be between Errigal Ciaran and Omagh after both sides came through tough tests over the weekend.

Errigal Ciaran took on giant-killers Pomeroy at Carrickmore yesterday afternoon and they had to pull out all the stops to record an impressive 1-12 to 0-11 victory.

The winners boasted a 0-5 to 0-3 advantage at the interval with Ronan McRory, Peter Harte and Davy Harte supplying points.

Two superb Ollie McCreesh scores had the sides level within five minutes of the restart before Peter Harte and Brendan Burns swapped scores.

As the second half wore on Pomeroy grew in stature and with 10 minutes to go they were 0-10 to 0-8 in front thanks to McCreesh and an outstanding effort from full back Hugh Pat McGeary.

Former Tyrone star Davy Harte though held his nerve to convert two frees to level matters before substitute Ryan Lynch put Errigal Ciaran in front with a minute left to play.

A poor kick out from Pomeroy keeper John McCourt proved decisive as defender Niall Kelly got in for the only goal of the game to send his side through to their first final since 2012.

In that final they will face 2014 winners Omagh who accounted for 2015 champions Trillick on Saturday evening.

After the sides had gone in ­level at the break Trillick looked to have taken control on the restart with points from Mattie Donnelly and James Garrity coupled with a Richard Donnelly goal.

They were to score just once more though as Tyrone attacker Ronan O'Neill found the net for Omagh and after Conan Grugan and Barry Tierney had helped draw them level former Red Hands star Joe McMahon won it with a "45" as it finished 1-11 to 1-10.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph