| 2.9°C Belfast

Kerry v Tyrone preview: Kieran Donaghy back for Kingdom while Tiernan McCann named for Tyrone


Let off: Tiernan McCann is available for Tyrone’s clash against Kerry after his ban was rescinded

Let off: Tiernan McCann is available for Tyrone’s clash against Kerry after his ban was rescinded

Let off: Tiernan McCann is available for Tyrone’s clash against Kerry after his ban was rescinded

Kieran Donaghy has been recalled to the Kerry team to face Tyrone in Sunday's All-Ireland semi-final as Eamonn Fitzmaurice once again shakes up his team with three changes.

Donaghy missed the seven-goal rout of Kildare earlier this month because of a slight groin strain he picked up in training, opening the door for Colm Cooper to return.

But despite the quality of an attacking display that yielded 7-16 and a 27-point win, Fitzmaurice has still opted to make three changes up front with Bryan Sheehan and Paul Geaney making way for Johnny Buckley and Donaghy.

The restoration of the captain points to a clear emphasis on aerially testing the Tyrone full-back line. James O'Donoghue has also been named to start despite the bleak report on his fitness delivered at last week's press briefing. O'Donoghue is still recovering from the shoulder injury that forced him off against Kildare.

Aidan O'Mahony is also gone, his place taken by Peter Crowley who is recalled after being dropped for the Cork replay.

Fitzmaurice's propensity to switch things around to suit a particular game plan has already manifested itself this year with five changes after the Clare semi-final win and another four between the Munster finals.

Sheehan's demotion is a significant one as his free-taking has been one of the most potent weapons in Kerry's arsenal this summer, while Geaney had been one of the stars of the win over Cork, scoring the goal that broke the game in their favour. He has already been dropped for the drawn Cork game.

Tyrone, meanwhile, have kept changes to a minimum with the injured Joe McMahon being replaced by younger brother Justin at centre-back.

Elsewhere, Down manager Jim McCorry has stepped down after just a year in charge in which the Mourne County returned to Division 1.

After a qualifier exit to Wexford, McCorry narrowly survived a vote of confidence last month, 22-20, and that left a question mark over his future.

The county's executive were also understood to be split over whether he should continue. A Down statement stressed last night that McCorry had the "100 per cent" support of the executive and clubs in the county.

The Kerry team is as follows:

1. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin

2. Paul Murphy Rathmore

3. Marc Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht

4. Shane Enright Tarbert

5. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion

6. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers

7. Killian Young Renard

8. Anthony Maher Duagh

9. David Moran Kerins O’Rahillys

10. Stephen O’Brien Kenmare

11. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes

12. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane

13. Colm Cooper Dr Crokes

14. Kieran Donaghy (C) Austin Stacks

15. James O’Donoghue Killarney Legion



16. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion

17. Aidan O’Mahony Rathmore

18. Bryan Sheehan St Marys

19. Paul Geaney Dingle

20. Barry John Keane Kerins O’Rahillys

21. Darran O’Sullivan Glenbeigh-Glencar

22. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes

23. Paul Galvin Finuge

24. Tommy Walsh Kerins O’Rahillys

25. Pa Kilkenny Glenbeigh/Glencar

26. Alan Fitzgerald Castlegregory


The Tyrone team is as follows:

1) Niall Morgan - Edendork

2) Aidan McCrory - Errigal Ciaran

3) Ronan McNamee - Aghyaran

4) Cathal McCarron - Dromore

5) Ronan McNabb - Dromore

6) Justin McMahon - Omagh

7) Peter Harte - Errigal Ciaran

8) Colm Cavanagh - Moy

9) Matthew Donnelly - Trillick

10) Tiernan McCann - Killyclogher

11) Mark Bradley - Killyclogher

12) Conor Meyler - Omagh

13) Darren McCurry - Edendork

14) Sean Cavanagh - Moy

15) Connor McAliskey - Clonoe



16) Michael O'Neill - Clonoe

17) Lee Brennan - Trillick

18) Rory Brennan - Trillick

19) Conor Clarke - Omagh

20) Richard Donnelly - Trillick

21) Danny McBride - Strabane

22) Conall McCann - Killyclogher

23) Joe McMahon - Omagh

24) Padraig McNulty - Dungannon

25) Ronan O'Neill - Omagh

26) Barry Tierney - Omagh

Irish Independent

Irish Independent