Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Tyrone

McAliskey in for suspended Penrose

By Declan Bogue

Tyrone have brought in Connor McAliskey to replace the suspended Martin Penrose in their attack for Sunday's All-Ireland semi-final against Mayo.

McAliskey had been hitting good form in patches earlier this year, most notably when he came in as a late replacement for Stephen O'Neill prior to the league final against Dublin and hit four points from play.

The one other change has been the re-appearance of Ryan McKenna at corner-back, who replaces Dermot Carlin.

Elsewhere, there is a settled look about the team with the half-back line of Conor Gormley, Peter Harte and Ciaran McGinley appearing en bloc, brothers Sean and Colm Cavanagh will face another set of brothers in Aidan and Seamus O'Shea in midfield, and Mattie and Mark Donnelly will play as auxiliary half-forwards.

It will come as no surprise to see Joe McMahon drops back in front of his full-back line.

Meanwhile, Mayo have named an unchanged side from that which tanked Donegal earlier this month.

Prior to that game they had named Richie Feeney to start, but instead Chris Barrett came in and started as a sweeper while Keith Higgins made his presence felt in the half-forward line.

James Horan has kept his faith in the starting line-up, which pours cold water on the rumours circulating earlier in the week that Andy Moran had suffered a reoccurrence of his cruciate ligament injury.

From the side that played in the All-Ireland final last year, team captain David Clarke is ruled out through injury, Kevin Keane and Enda Varley were introduced as subs against Donegal, while Jason Doherty and Barry Moran are held in reserve.

TYRONE: Pascal McConnell; Ryan McKenna, Conor Clarke, Cathal McCarron; Conor Gormley, Peter Harte, Ciaran McGinley; Colm Cavanagh, Sean Cavanagh; Matthew Donnelly, Mark Donnelly, Joe McMahon; Darren McCurry, Stephen O'Neill, Connor McAliskey.

MAYO: Rob Hennelly; Tom Cunniffe, Ger Cafferkey, Chris Barrett; Lee Keegan, Donal Vaughan, Colm Boyle; Aidan O'Shea, Seamus O'Shea; Kevin McLoughlin, Keith Higgins, Alan Dillon; Cillian O'Connor, Alan Freeman, Andy Moran.

* THE appeal mounted by Limerick concerning the failure of Hawkeye to correctly award them an early point in their minor All-Ireland semi-final against Galway, has failed on a technicality, a Central Competitions Control Committee press release stated.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph