Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Ulster trio claim places on Minor Team of the Year


Aaron Mulligan
Aaron Mulligan
John Campbell

By John Campbell

Three Ulster players have been selected for the Electric Ireland Minor football team of the year.

Derry defender Tiarnan Woods caps an outstanding season by being awarded the left corner-back berth while Monaghan duo Ronan Grimes and Aaron Mulligan are also included.

Monaghan won the provincial title in some style but were narrowly beaten by favourites Kerry in the All-Ireland semi-final (1-16 to 2-11).

Woods was a defensive pillar for Derry in and his consistency ensured the team's defence as a whole remained solid for the most part.

Mulligan emerged as Monaghan's top scorer, proving crucial to the team's progress while Grimes also made a huge contribution.

The Minor team of the Year will be honoured at the second annual Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards at Croke Park on September 29.

Ex-Tyrone skipper Sean Cavanagh, a member of the selection committee, said: "The skill shown by the footballers named on this year's Team of the Year has been really exceptional. Ulster performed very strongly this year and it was impossible to leave the three players out."

Team: J Ball (Kildare); R Grimes (Monaghan), O Fitzgerald (Kerry), T Woods (Derry); C Moriarty (Kerry), T Gill (Galway), M Lavin (Dublin); D Rahilly (Kerry), C Raftery (Galway); P Walsh (Kerry), M Costello (Meath), A Mulligan (Monaghan); L Mitchell (Meath), E Darcy (Wicklow), M Cooley (Galway).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph