Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport

Garry Jennings is out to join an exclusive Lurgan club

By Sammy Hamill

Still buoyed by his second Donegal International win, Garry Jennings now turns his attention to Saturday's Orchard Motorsport Lurgan Park Rally, aiming to become only the third driver to record a hat-trick of victories in the event's 35-year history.

The former Irish Tarmac champion from Kesh heads the 60-strong starting list in his S12 Subaru as he bids to emulate the three-in-a-row achievements of Kenny McKinstry and Kevin Lynch in this unique, spectator-friendly, round-the-park rally.

Jennings will line up at No.1 ahead of the S14 Subaru of five-time Circuit of Ireland winner Derek McGarrity, a driver who is still searching for his first Lurgan victory. The top three starters are completed by Derek McGeehan in his WRC Mini, a repeat of last year's finishing order.

All-time King of the Park, McKinstry, with a record of 11 wins stretching back to 1983, is at No.4 in another S14 Subaru.

The top 10 also includes Melvyn Evans, the only Welshman to win the Irish National championship, and Stuart Biggerstaff, the youngest driver to win the Northern Ireland series, both in Subarus.

Heading north from Waterford for a first Lurgan Park appearance will be European championship leader Craig Breen, who left the woe of retiring from the Ypres Rally in Belgium on Saturday behind to fly home and drive a Ford Escort in his local Raven's Rock Rally on Sunday.

He finished 12th and, with his Circuit of Ireland winning Peugeot 208 T16 now back at its French base, Breen will use the same Escort in the park where he will be joined by former Scottish champion David Bogie.

Others to watch out for include Robert Woodside in the Porsche 911 R-GT and Denis Biggerstaff in his Metro 6R4.

The rally starts at 10.07am with eight stages scheduled.

Top of the entry list: 1 Garry Jennings (Subaru Impreza), 2 Derek McGarrity (Subaru Impreza), 3 Derek McGeehan (Mini WRC), 4 Kenny McKinstry (Subaru Impreza), 5 Melvyn Evans (Subaru Impreza), 6 Kevin Kelleher (Subaru Impreza), 7 Stuart Biggerstaff (Subaru Impreza), 8 Emma McKinstry (Subaru Impreza), 9 Ray Brammer (Subaru Impreza), 10 Pat O'Connell (Mitsubishi Lancer).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph