| 10.6°C Belfast

Caddie caught hiding extra club in bush

Jose Manuel Lara has been disqualified from the BMW International Open in Cologne after his caddie tried to hide the fact that the Spaniard began the event with an extra club in his bag.

Lara was thrown out of the event for the breach of etiquette. The incident came to light after he had shot an opening 73 – and his caddie, Mathias Vinson, was asked not to return.

The European Tour chief referee, John Paramor, said: "His caddie noticed that he had a 15th club and on the second hole he attempted to lose it in a thick bush. He was seen entering the bush with the bag of clubs by his playing partners [Ireland's Damien McGrane and Swede Peter Hedblom], who thought it was a little bit suspicious.

"They went and asked the chap: 'What are you doing?' And [the caddie] sort of fumbled out an answer saying: 'I've got this wrong – I've done something bad'."

Belfast Telegraph