Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Golf

Chris Selfridge and Cormac Sharvin on course for success

By Jonathan Bradley

Northern Ireland duo Chris Selfridge and Cormac Sharvin have made it through to the last 32 of the Amateur Championship at Royal Portrush after both won in the first round of matchplay yesterday.

With entry to both next month's Open Championship at Royal Liverpool, Hoylake and the 2015 US Open, as well as an expected invitation to the Masters at Augusta for the winner, victory would be a dream come true for any member of the field.

Selfridge, who qualified for the matchplay after shooting par during the two rounds of strokeplay, had a convincing 4&3 win over Wales' David Boote and will now face Toby Tree at 7.57am today.

Cormac Sharvin held his nerve for a 2&1 win over Scotland's Calum Hill.

The Ardglass golfer's round featured four birdies but a bogey on the 16th meant he secured victory with a par on the penultimate hole. Today brings a meeting with the Dane Victor Fasmer Henum.

Matchplay Scores: Daniel Brown beat Myles Lewis 2&1; Thomas Le Berre beat Bobby Keeble by one hole; Mathieu Fenasse beat Luke Johnston 2&1; Mario Galiano beat Rhys Pugh 5&4; Ben Wheeler beat Paul Dunne 4&3; Sean Towndrow beat Jon Rahm 3&1; Chris Selfridge beat David Boote 4&3; Paul Howard beat Thomas Detry by 2 holes; James Ross beat Martin Keskari 4&3; Cormac Sharvin beat Calum Hill 2&1; Victor Famser Henum beat Emilio Cuartero 4&3; Adam Champan beat Hannes Ronneblad by one hole; Maximmilain Mehles beat James Allen 3&2; Zander Lombard beat Jack Bush 5&4; Haydn McCullen beat Jack Hume by one hole; Leonard Bem beat Marcus Kinhult 3&2; Geoff Drakeford beat Rory McNamara 4&2; Neil Bradley beat Stuart Grehan by a hole; Chris Robb beat Michele Cea 3&2; Paul Kinnear beat Joseph Dean 2&1; Paul Barjon beat Jack McDonald 4&2; Haruldar Magnus beat Nicolai Tinning 4&3; Renato Pastore beat Jordan Smith 3&1; Grant Forrest beat Mark Geddes 2&1; Jamie Savage beat Julien Brun by one hole; Tomasz Anderson beat Mathieu Decottignies-Lafon 2&1; Matthias Eggenberger beat Brandon Hagg after 20 holes; Liam Johnston beat Robin Dawson 2&1; Joao Carlota beat Richard Bridges by 2 holes; Connor Syme beat Ben Stow 2&1; Ashton Turner beat Kenny Subregis beat after 19 holes.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph