Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Golf

Cormac Sharvin is on a real high after Walker Cup call

By Stuart McKinley

Ardglass man Cormac Sharvin is celebrating his selection in the Great Britain and Ireland team for the Walker Cup.

And he will be joined in the battle with the United States by four other Irishmen.

A record five players from across Ireland have been named, making up half the team that will take to the fairways at Royal Lytham and St Annes on September 12 and 13 in the amateur equivalent of the Ryder Cup.

Twenty-two-year-old Sharvin has had an impressive year on the amateur circuit, winning the Brabazon Trophy and finishing runner-up in the Irish Amateur Championship and third in the Scottish.

"I've played really well all season and it was nice to break through and win the Brabazon," said Sharvin.

"And playing in the Walker Cup is the best thing you can do in amateur golf if you are from Britain or Ireland."

Leading the other Irish representatives is Paul Dunne, who was the 54-hole joint leader at last month's Open Championship at St Andrews before fading to finish in a tie for 30th.

He and Sharvin are joined by Jack Hume, Gary Hurley and Gavin Moynihan.

GB & Ireland captain Nigel Edwards has also selected Ashley Chesters, who finished ahead of Dunne at the Open, coming home 12th.

Englishmen Sam Horsfield and Jimmy Mullen, and Scots Grant Forrest and Jack McDonald, will make up the team.

"We have selected a talented group of players who compete at the highest levels of amateur golf and, in some cases, have played in Major championships and Tour events," said Edwards.

"The Walker Cup offers these players a tremendous opportunity to display their abilities and gain invaluable experience of playing in international team competition."

The Open Silver Medal winner Jordan Niebrugge is one of five players that have been added to the United States team that will be hoping to regain the trophy after winning 17-9 in New York two years ago.

Niebrugge, Scott Harvey, Denny McCarthy, Mike McCoy and teenager Robby Shelton will all represent their country alongside Bryson DeChambeau, Beau Hossler, Lee McCoy, Maverick McNealy and Hunter Stewart.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph