Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Golf

Graeme McDowell is the write choice again

Graeme McDowell may have had to share the European Tour Golfer of the Year award with Martin Kaymer, but he is the clear winner of the Golf Writers' Trophy. McDowell is the first player from Northern Ireland and the fifth Irish golfer to win the award.

The 31-year-old made history at Pebble Beach by becoming the first European winner of the US Open since Tony Jacklin 40 years ago and then clinched the winning point at the Ryder Cup.

He also won the Wales Open at Celtic Manor, the Andalucia Masters at Valderrama and the Chevron World.

“I am hugely honoured to win such a prestigious award and especially in a year when European golf as a whole has achieved such amazing things,” said McDowell.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph