Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Golf

McDowell and Kaymer share award

Graeme McDowell and Martin Kaymer have been voted joint winners of the 2010 European Tour Golfer of the Year award - the first time the prize has been shared in its 26-year history.

Both players won their first major titles - McDowell at the US Open, Kaymer at the US PGA - both won four times and both were members of the victorious Ryder Cup side.

It was the 25-year-old German who took the "Race to Dubai" money list title, but against that McDowell was, of course, the match-winning hero against the Americans at Celtic Manor in October.

A judging panel of writers and commentators debated the many merits of the pair, but when it came to the vote the result was split right down the middle.

There has never been a season quite like it for the European Tour, with South African Louis Oosthuizen becoming Open champion at St Andrews, Lee Westwood taking over from Tiger Woods as world number one and Ian Poulter, Ernie Els and Francesco Molinari all winning World Golf Championship events.

McDowell, who on Sunday beat Tiger Woods in a play-off in America, commented: "I am truly humbled to accept this coveted award.

"It is the icing on the cake on what has been a very special year for myself, Martin and everyone involved in European golf.

"It is an honour to share this award with a player of Martin's calibre. He is one of the best players of our generation and I am sure will enjoy many more successes in the years to come."

Kaymer said: "This has been a truly great year for me and winning this award is the perfect ending.

"It is recognition for my performances in 2010 and to be voted for by the golfing media, the people who watch and report on our sport throughout the year, makes me feel very proud."


From Belfast Telegraph