| 7.8°C Belfast

Rory follows Rory McIlroy with single shot win a Lough Erne

Rory Williamson has followed the great Rory McIlroy with a stunning win of the Faldo Series Ireland Championship at Lough Erne Golf Resort over the weekend.

Not only is Rory Williamson a member of the same golf club, Holywood, but also at 18 is the same age that Rory McIlroy won the title for the third time in the row.

The former world's number one golfer won the same tournament when he was 16, 17 and 18.

Rory Williamson of Holywood Golf Club won the the 20th Faldo Series grand final by a single shot on the Faldo Course. Williamson fired rounds of 71 & 69 to hold off the fierce challenges of Shane Mcdermott and Jamie Fletcher, who finished in joint second place overall.

Some 96 golfers played the renowned Faldo Course at Lough Erne Golf Resort, with the five category winners qualifying for the 20th Faldo Series Grand Final. Williamson will be very satisfied with his final round; in particular his back nine and birdies on 17 & 18 to get him home in 32. The score made all the more impressive by the pressure being exerted from the chasing pack.

Williamson won the Boys’ Under-21 by a single stroke but the Boys’ Under-18 was more conclusive. Peter Cummins (Lurgan) has showcased his talent in the Faldo Series previously, and so it was again as he shot 75 & 70 to win by 4 strokes. Cummins was able to seize the birdie chances on the back nine to post a great score on the testing Faldo Designed layout.

Eoin Murphy (Dundalk) was the victor in the Boys’ Under-16 division. He claimed the spoils by four shots over Conor Glennon (Glasson). Murphy’s rounds of 74 & 70 at such a venue will fill him with confidence. Murphy’s efforts also grant him qualification to his first Faldo Series Grand Final.

The Girls’ Under-21 category was claimed by Mary Doyle (The Heath) by five shots over Maeve Cummins. Doyle was able to lead from start to finish in rounds of 74 & 77. The Girls’ Under 16 division was a closer affair as Anna Foster of Elm Park edged out Kate Dwyer by a single shot. Foster headed home in 33 on the final day to take the glory. Both Doyle and Foster qualified for the Grand Final later this year.

Recognised as the only global amateur series for boys and girls, the Faldo Series was established in 1996, expanding to Asia in 2006.

Forty Faldo Series tournaments take place in 30-plus countries worldwide, touching thousands of golfers each year. Past winners include Major Champions Tseng Ya-ni and Rory McIlroy, who took his tally of professional Major titles to four with his wins at the 2014 Open Championship and US PGA Championship.

Belfast Telegraph