Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Golf

Rory McIlroy lands top Belfast Telegraph sports award

Rory McIlroy was last night named Belfast Telegraph Sports Star of the Year
Rory McIlroy was last night named Belfast Telegraph Sports Star of the Year
Belfast Telegraph Sports Star of the Year, Rory McIlroy, is presented with his trophy by Group Sports Editor Jim Gracey
Rory McIlroy's Belfast Telegraph interview
Dame Mary Peters presents Olympic athlete and former Ireland hockey player Maeve Kyle OBE with the Belfast Telegraph Hall of Fame trophy.
Kristine Topping from sponsors ONE 1918 and football legend Pat Jennings present Celtic and Northern Ireland footballer Niall McGinn with the George Best Breakthrough Award.
Sport Northern Ireland Chief Executive Eamonn McCartan presents Antrim GAA Manager Liam Bradley with the Sport Northern Ireland Manager/Coach of the Year Award
Northern Ireland Football team manager Nigel Worthington presents this years Special Award to Irish Cricket legend, Kyle McCallan.
Dominic Walsh, Sport NI presents Londonderry based wrestler Mohammad Ali with the Local Heroes award.
Disability Needs Ltd Managing Director John Spottiswoode presents Niall McVeigh with the Sportsperson with a Disability Award.
Maeve Kyle presents the Young Player of the Year award to athlete Ciara Mageean
Belfast Telegraph Sports Editor Steven Beacom presents Armagh Minors with the Young Team of the Year Award Pictured left to right are: Ciaran Robinson, Paul McShane, Steven Beacom, Rory Grugan and Declan McKenna.
Former British Lion and Ireland rubgy Player Mike Gibson presents Stephen Ferris with the Player of the Year Award.
Celebrating Rory McIlroyÕs Belfast Telegraph Sports Star of the Year award are RoryÕs parents, Gerry and Rosie McIlroy with Magners Head of Marketing, Nicola McCleery and Belfast Telegraph Editor, Mike Gilson.
Joanne Hayden, Marketing Manager for Linwoods presents Ballynahinch Rugby team with the Linwoods Team of the Year Award. Pictured left to right are: Alan Montgomery, Ryan Banbury, Joanne Hayden, Johnny Cullen, Derek Sufferin and Philip Gregg.
Northern Ireland Sports Forum Award Chairman Ken Nixon presents the ÔWJÕ Paddy Patterson Award for Service to Sport to Bob Colhoun.
Ulster Rugby plaers Tom Court, Darren Cave, Stephen Ferris, Paddy Wallace and Chris Henry with the new Belfast Telegraph Ulster Rugby calendar
Nigel Worthington and Pat Jennings
Player of the Year Award winner Stephen Ferris with Nicola McCleery, Head of Marketing at Magners Irish Cider
Enjoying last night’s Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards are (from left) former Ulster hero Simon Best, Richard McClean, Assistant Managing Director of the Belfast Telegraph and INM (NI) Chief Executive Michael Brophy
Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin with his wife Judith
Pictured left to right is Mike Gilson
Celtic and Northern Ireland star Niall McGinn (right) with his agent, Gerry Carlile
Phil McCord and Sport NI Manager/Coach of the Year Liam Bradley enjoy the celebration of sporting talent at the Ramada Hotel last night. Liam was rewarded for guiding Antrim to the Ulster final for the first time since 1970
Rugby legend Dr Syd Millar, CBE, and Gavin O'Reilly, Chief Executive of Independent News & Media
Ulster GAA President Tom Daly and Tyrone manager Mickey Harte
Rory McCann, Eugene Moleon and Daniel Graham from Instonians
Alan Simpson and Jill Douglas
Northern Ireland netball players Hannah Irvine, Cathy McLean and Lisa McCaffrey attend the gala awards night at the Ramada Hotel. The team performed heroics in the Netball Nations Cup in Singapore last month
Netballers Elaine Rice and Micaela Brunton
Lynne and Kyle McCallum
Chris Henry, Cecil Watson, Rory Best and Sid Millar
Maeve Kyle is the latest big name to enter the Belfast Telegraph Hall of Fame and she was pictured at the gala awards evening at the Ramada Hotel last night with her husband, Sean
Irish Football Association President Raymond Kennedy, Sport NI Chief Executive Dr Eamonn McCartan and Northern Ireland manager Nigel Worthington were among the special guests at last night’s gala evening at the Ramada Hotel
Jack Cooper, Bob Colhoun, Maeve Kyle (who received the Belfast Telegraph Hall of Fame trophy) and Sean Kyle

By Peter Hutcheon

Rory McIlroy was last night named the Belfast Telegraph Sports Star of the Year, sponsored by Magners, at a glittering awards ceremony at the Ramada Hotel in Belfast.

The 20-year-old, who begins this year’s campaign in Abu Dhabi this week, said winning a major was his top priority for the new season.

“Definitely a major is my main ambition,” he said.

“I put myself in position at the US PGA last year to win and finished third in the end and had another top ten at the US Open.

“I had a lot of good experiences at the majors last year and hopefully with Tiger out for a while I can seize the opportunity and take one before he gets back.”

McIlroy scooped last night's top award after winning his first European tour event, the Dubai Desert Classic, last year and for his three top 20 major finishes which helped propel him into the top ten in the world.

He saw off stiff competition from last year's winner, cyclist Wendy Houvenaghel, champion jump jockey Tony McCoy, and champion figure skater Jenna McCorkell.

“I'd like to thank the readers of the Belfast Telegraph and the judges for this award which means a lot to me,” he said.

In Video: Gary Grattan reports from the Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards

Stephen Ferris was awarded the Player of the Year award last night, Niall McGinn won the George Best Breakthrough award, and Maeve Kyle was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph