Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Golf

Ulster’s finest golfers all set to do battle

By Peter Hutcheon

Over 100 of Ulster's best young golfers tee off at the Boyd Challenge Cup at Malone on Monday.

It's the 34th year of the competition which is an 18-hole strokeplay tournament, run jointly by Malone and Alexander Boyd Displays.

Chairman Brian Boyd says each year the competition provides an excellent platform for the province's young players to show what they can do.

“Northern Ireland has an established pedigree of fine golfers,” he said.

“We are very keen to encourage the development of a pipeline of talent, which means focusing on the under 18s.

“This is a great opportunity for up and coming young golfers to test themselves in the competitive arena and sharpen their tournament skills,” he said.

The action at Malone gets underway on Monday with a number of prizes at stake.

Meanwhile Ireland failed in their bid to win the Boys Home Internationals as they capitulated 12-3 in their final match against England, who took the crown.

England have now won 10 of the 14 Boys Home Internationals staged since the event was changed to its present format in 1996.


The Maguire twins will be missing when the British Girls Open Amateur championship gets under way over the West Lancashire links on Monday.

The 14-year-old Cavan duo who helped Ireland clinch the Swansea Spoon as runners-up in the Girls Home Internationals this week are said to be the victims of fixture congestion.

They have both been selected for the Junior Solheim Cup being played later in the month in Chicago and cannot fit everything in.

The pair have also been left out of the Irish side for the women's home internationals at Irvine in Scotland.

Irish team for Home Internationals at Irvine September 9-11: V Bradshaw (Bangor),S Cunningham (Ennis),M Dowling (New Ross),N Kitching (Claremorris),A Murphy (Carlow),D McVeigh (Royal County Down),G O'Leary (Cork),C Reid (Royal Portrush). Reserves : L Mernagh (Woodenbridge),K Delaney (Carlow),L Coffey (Warrenpoint). Captain: C Robinson.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph