Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Golf

US PGA: Graeme McDowell happy to be a traditionalist at year’s final

The game of golf thrives on tradition and Graeme McDowell will be proud to uphold his part at Whistling Straits at this week’s US PGA.

As reigning US Open champion he will tee-off on the first two days with the season’s other two Major winners, Masters champion Phil Mickelson and Open champion Louis Oosthuizen.

And after a disappointing return to America last week at the Brigestone Invitational, he’s finding this course much more to his liking.

“I played reasonably well at the WGC, but my putter was cold,” he said. “But it was been a great week mentally and I’m ready to go at Whistling Straits.

“It's a very linksy course so will suit some of us Europeans. I'm really looking forward to it.”

Rory McIlroy will play on Thursday and Friday in the company of American Steve Stricker and resurgent Australian Adam Scott.

He’s been installed as third favourite behind Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods by many bookies this week and given the way both men finished last week, a clear case can be made to make him the outright favourite.

Darren Clarke, playing for a second year in a row on an invitation from the US PGA, goes out with Americans Jeff Overton and Kenny Perry.

Given the state of his game at the moment Woods might appreciate the irony of being paired with defending champions YE Yang, who 12 months ago became the first Asian Major winner — and in the process also the first man to chase down the world number one playing with him in the final round of a Major championship.

Their’s is another arranged group playing the first two days with another former champion in Vijay Singh.

Tee-off times in the first two rounds of the US PGA Championship, Whistling Straits, Kohler, Wisconsin, United States of America (USA unless stated, all times local, second round in brackets):

0700 (1215) Scott Hebert, Bo Van Pelt, Vaughn Taylor

0710 (1225) Stephen Gallacher (Sco), Keith Ohr, Derek Lamely

0720 (1235) Steve Marino, Rob Labritz, K J Choi (Kor)

0730 (1245) Kyung-Tae Kim (Kor), John Merrick, Martin Laird (Sco)

0740 (1255) Hiroyuki Fujita (Jpn), Bubba Watson, Alvaro Quiros (Spa)

0750 (1305) Steve Elkington (Aus), David Toms, Mark Brooks

0800 (1315) Ryan Palmer, Michael Sim (Aus), Matt Bettencourt

0810 (1325) Matthew Jones (Aus), Brian Davis (Eng), Ricky Barnes

0820 (1335) Edoardo Molinari (Ita), D.J. Trahan, Thongchai Jaidee (Tha)

0830 (1345) Marc Leishman (Aus), Fredrik Jacobson (Swe), Brian Gay

0840 (1355) Rhys Davies (Wal), Ben Crane, Mark Sheftic

0850 (1405) Raphael Jacquelin (Fra), Ryan Benzel, Brendon De Jonge

0900 (1415) Sonny Skinner, David Horsey (Eng), George McNeill

1215 (0700) Tim Thelen, Paul Goydos, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Spa)

1225 (0710) Jason Dufner, Troy Pare, Anders Hansen (Den)

1235 (0720) Chris Wood (Eng), Rory Sabbatini (Rsa), Brandt Snedeker

1245 (0730) Ross Fisher (Eng), Mike Weir (Can), Chad Campbell

1255 (0740) Kevin Sutherland, Ernie Els (Rsa), Dustin Johnson

1305 (0750) Jeff Overton, Darren Clarke (NIrl), Kenny Perry

1315 (0800) Steve Stricker, Adam Scott (Aus), Rory McIlroy (NIrl)

1325 (0810) Zach Johnson, Henrik Stenson (Swe), Lucas Glover

1335 (0820) Phil Mickelson, Graeme McDowell (NIrl), Louis Oosthuizen (Rsa)

1345 (0830) Justin Rose (Eng), Tim Clark (Rsa), Nick Watney

1355 (0840) Trevor Immelman (Rsa), Angel Cabrera (Arg), Hunter Mahan

1405 0850) Ross McGowan (Eng), Mitch Lowe, Bill Lunde

1415 (0900) Simon Dyson (Eng), Bruce Smith, Kris Blanks

0700 (1215) Rich Steinmetz, Tim Petrovic, Jason Day (Aus)

0710 (1225) Rickie Fowler, Justin Leonard, Ryo Ishikawa (Jpn)

0720 (1235) Stuart Appleby (Aus), Kyle Flinton, Soren Kjeldsen (Den)

0730 (1245) Geoff Ogilvy (Aus), Jim Furyk, Charl Schwartzel (Rsa)

0740 (1255) Luke Donald (Eng), Tetsuji Hiratsuka (Jpn), J.B. Holmes

0750 (1305) Paul Casey (Eng), Jerry Kelly, Anthony Kim

0800 (1315) Davis Love III, Padraig Harrington (Irl), John Daly

0810 (1325) Sergio Garcia (Spa), Stewart Cink, Martin Kaymer (Ger)

0820 (1335) Vijay Singh (Fij), Y.E. Yang (Kor), Tiger Woods

0830 (1345) Retief Goosen (Rsa), Ryan Moore, Francesco Molinari (Ita)

0840 (1355) Corey Pavin, Ian Poulter (Eng), Camilo Villegas (Col)

0850 (1405) Rob Moss, Charles Howell III, Gregory Bourdy (Fra)

0900 (1415) Jason Schmuhl, Troy Matteson, Daniel Willett (Eng)

1215 (0700) Fredrik Andersson Hed (Swe), John Senden (Aus), David Hutsell

1225 (0710) Chip Sullivan, Bryce Molder, Carl Pettersson (Swe)

1235 (0720) Koumei Oda (Jpn), Colin Montgomerie (Sco), Matt Kuchar

1245 (0730) Heath Slocum, Soren Hansen (Den), Cameron Beckman

1255 (0740) D.A. Points, Boo Weekley, Seung-yul Noh (Kor)

1305 (0750) Jason Bohn, Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa), Wen-chong Liang (Chn)

1315 (0800) Shaun Micheel, Tom Lehman, Mike Small

1325 (0810) Yuta Ikeda (Jpn), Peter Hanson (Swe), Ben Curtis

1335 (0820) Stephen Ames (Can), Oliver Wilson (Eng), Bill Haas

1345 (0830) Shane Lowry (Irl), Kevin Na, Scott Verplank

1355 (0840) Sean O'Hair, Danny Balin, Robert Karlsson (Swe)

1405 (0850) Kevin Stadler, Stu Ingraham, Charlie Wi (Kor)

1415 (0900) Robert Mcclellan, Jimmy Walker, Simon Khan (Eng)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph