| 7.9°C Belfast

Eight Ulster players named in Ireland squad for World Cup


Jonathan Bell

Jonathan Bell

Jonathan Bell

Eight Ulster player have been named in the Ireland panel for the World Cup.

Green Machine head coach Alexander Cox has announced his panel of 20 players that will travel to Bhubaneswar in India for the showpiece event starting next month.

The team, currently ranked 10th in the world, will be the first Irish men’s hockey team to compete at a World Cup since 1990 and are following hot on the heels of the women's astounding run to the final during the summer.

Lisnagarvey's Jonathan Bell is joined by former clubmate Paul Gleghorne and ex Banbridge man Matthew Bell.

In midfield, Michael Robson, Chris Cargo and Sean Murray, all now playing abroad, have been named along with Lisnagarvey forward Matthew Nelson and Banbridge talisman Eugene Magee.

Ireland, now sponsored by Turkish Airlines, begin their World Cup campaign with a game against world number one side Australia on November 30th. They also take on China and England in the remaining group games before the knock-out stages. The final takes place on December 16.

The winners of each pool progress straight through to the quarterfinal and the bottom placed team goes home. The second placed team in Pool B will play off against the third placed team in Pool A, and the third placed team in Pool B will play against the second placed team in Pool A.

Head Coach Cox said: “I am proud to announce our World Cup squad. The camps we had in Ireland and overseas were very good and allowed me to see the potential of all the players in our training panel. The 20 players selected give me the most options in defense, midfield and attack. We are very much looking forward to the upcoming tournament in Valencia which will be our first test as a team as we look towards the World Cup.”

Next week, Ireland warm up with the Four Nations Tournament in Valencia, taking on the Netherlands, England and Spain.

Their World Cup preparation is concluded with games against Belgium and another tie against the Netherlands.

Ireland's World Cup squad

David Harte Kampong GK

David Fitzgerald Monkstown GK

Jonathan Bell Lisnagarvey Defender

Paul Gleghorne HTC Crefeld Defender

Luke Madeley Three Rock Rovers Defender

Conor Harte Racing Club Defender

Stuart Loughrey Reading Defender

Matthew Bell HTC Crefeld Defender

Lee Cole Oree Defender

Shane O’Donoghue nKHC Dragons Midfield

Michael Robson HTC Crefeld Midfield

Kirk Shimmins KHC Dragons Midfield

Sean Murray HC Rotterdam Midfield

Chris Cargo H&W Midfield

Daragh Walsh Three Rock Rovers Midfield

Matthew Nelson Lisnagarvey Forward

Mitch Darling Three Rock Rovers Forward

Eugene Magee Banbridge Forward

Alan Sothern Gantoise Gent Forward

Jeremy Duncan Heracles Forward

Belfast Telegraph