Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Hockey

Glassey and Frazer pick up Ulster hockey's top honours

By Graham Hamilton

Neal Glassey and Megan Frazer have landed Ulster Hockey's Player of the Year trophies.

Many at last night's awards bash at the Ramada Hotel expected the men's crown to go to someone from Banbridge after they won four trophies and reached the Irish Hockey League's final, but this was put down to a remarkable team effort from Mark Tumilty's squad and not surprisingly they were named Team of the Year.

But the Player of the Year award instead went to Mossley midfielder Glassey, who scooped the trophy after a remarkable season.

Mossley were at the foot of the Premier League table for much of the season but Glassey proved to be a captain fantastic, scoring 16 goals - half of his team's total - and inspiring Fergie Cosgrove's team to climb off the bottom.

He also helped them to the Kirk Cup semi-finals and his displays saw him become Ulster U21 captain, followed by recognition from the Irish U21s and culminating in him winning his first senior international caps.

The women's award went to Megan Frazer (pictured) of Ulster Elks, who won the Irish Senior Cup and were third in the Premier League. She also captained Ireland to World League 2 gold.

Mossley's Debbie Peachey won the Winifred Templeton Award in recognition of her involvement in the development of the club's junior section which has over 300 players. The club landed the U11, U13 and U15 titles and the four junior teams each won theirs.

The men's Personality of the Year was Ulster fixtures secretary Raymond Hughes who carried out a tremendous amount of work through a difficult season when his fixtures schedule had to be rearranged time and time again.

He was also chairman and acting secretary of the Disciplinary Committee, and Tournament Director, Tournament Official or Judge at IHL, internationals or Ulster competitions.

The women's equivalent went to Cookstown's Linda Black, who has held many volunteer roles.

Top Goalscorer was Bann's Stephen Dowds (59) while Suzanne Ferris (Pegasus) and Chloe Brown (Ards) each scored 22.

Queen's men won the Fair Play award and the George Blower Trophy for Schoolboy Excellence went to Robert McMinn and Markethill High.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph