| 7.2°C Belfast

Ian Sloan captains U18s in Utrecht

Cookstown's Ian Sloan will captain the Irish U18s in Utecht mext month for the Eurohockey championships.

The Tyrone schoolboy, recently named Ulster senior player of the year and the Irish U18 player of the year, is joined by seven other Ulster players for the series which runs from July 12/17.

Those include fellow Cookstown High pupil Matthew Rollins and Banbridge Academy trio Matthew Bell, Peter Brown and Owen Magee.

The Irish are in the same pool as Germany, Holland and Russia, with Belgium, Spain, England and France in the other.

Irish U18s: M Bell, P Brown, R Canning, D Cole, J Duncan, A Fallis, N Gilmore, M Ingram, O Magee, B McMillan, P Ritchie, M Rollins, T Samuel, K Shimmins, I Sloan, H Spain, D Watkins, J Wright. Non travelling reserves: M Anderson, S Gallagher, F Maher, D McCrea, J Moffett.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Top Videos