Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Hockey

Irish boys and girls bid for U18 glory in Utrecht

By Graham Hamilton

Former Irish internationals John and Glenda McKee are being kept busy as their son and daughter follow in their footsteps.

Son Johnny was away to Paris last week with the Irish Under 16s as they won the Tri-Nations involving France, Wales and Ireland.

And this week it’s daughter Lucy’s turn, as she is in Utrecht with the Irish Under 18s for the European Youth championships.

John, who had a glowing career with Holywood 87, and Glenda, who starred with Portadown Ladies, have been trying to ensure that their offspring have plenty of support as they come through the Irish underage ranks.

In fact both the Irish boys and girls are in Utrecht for the Europeans which started today and continue through to Sunday.

The boys, captained by Ian Sloan — son of former internationals Martin and Adele — begin their campaign against Holland this evening and have further pool games against Russia tomorrow and Germany on Thursday. Belgium France, England and Spain are in the other pool.

The girls also start against Holland, late this afternoon, and have further pool games against Scotland tomorrow and Belgium on Thursday. England, Germany, Spain and France are in the other pool.

IRISH U18 BOYS: Matthew Bell (Banbridge Acad.), Peter Brown (Banbridge Acad.), Adam Fallis (RBAI), Neil Gilmore (Portadown Coll.), Owen Magee Banbridge Acad.), Ben McMillan (RBAI), Paul Ritchie (Regent House), Matthew Rollins (Cookstown High), Ian Sloan (Cookstown High), Jamie Wright (Portadown Coll.), Ross Canning (St Columbas), David Cole (St Andrew’s), Jeremy Duncan ( Kilkenny Coll.), Mark Ingram (Oaklands), Tom Samuel (Wesley), Kirk Shimmins (Wesley), Harry Spain (Sutton Park), David Watkins (St Andrew’s)

IRISH U18 GIRLS: Amy Cooke (Ballyclare High), Jenna Holmes (Carrickfergus Gram.), Joanne Orr (Royal School Armagh), Katie Mullan (Dalriada), Kerri McDonald (Banbridge Acad.), Leah Ewart (Royal School Armagh), Lucy Camlin (Ballyclare High), Lucy McKee (Banbridge Acad.), Aisling Naughton (Mount Anville), Amy-Kate Trevor (Scoil Mhuire), Dora Gorman (Taylor’s Hill), Emily Beatty (Alexandra Coll.), Emma Russell (Holy Child, Killiney), Freddie Timmins (Yeats College), Katie Froeling (Gymnasium Sorghvliet), Lisa McCarthy (Mount Anville), Rebecca Barry (Laurel Hill), Roisin Upton (Crescent Comp.)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph