Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Hockey

New sponsor revealed at awards night


By Graham Hamilton

It turned out to be a big night for Ulster Hockey as they staged their Gala Awards dinner, handing out an array of trophies, but were also able to announce a new major sponsor.

The awards were presented at a glittering ceremony at the Europa Hotel where guests were told that Belfast-based Teamwear Ireland are now on board. The company have partnered with Spanish sportswear giant Joma.

The Men's Player of the Year went to Kilkeel's David Rae, who helped land a league and cup double with another final to come, but he was unable to attend as he is in New York with the Irish U21s, while the women's award went to Sarah McClure from title-winning Lurgan for the second successive year.

The Men's Personality of the Year Award went to umpire Ken Glass - he has had a long association with the sport and indeed has officiated at Premier League games at the age of 80.

The women's Personality of the Year (Hall Cup) went to Simon Bell who has transformed Queen's Ladies, and indeed Queen's also landed the Club of the Year and Fair Play awards.

The men's top scorer was Chris Barnes (Instonians) and the women's award (Duke Cup) went to Emily McStea of Queen's.

The Winifred Templeton Award was presented to Randalstown stalwart Janet Hamilton while the Carson Clarke Award went to Annadale's Ronnie Smyth who has made an immense contribution to club and coaching for almost 50 years.

The George Blower Schoolboy Trophy went to Wallace High 2nd XI who won the Taylor Cup and Prior Shield, while Shirley McCay received a Recognition Award for her 250th Irish cap.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph