Belfast Telegraph

Sports Awards

Home Sport Hockey

Only three Ulster players chosen in Ireland squad for Europeans


By John Flack

Ulster players Lizzie Colvin and Ayeisha McFerran are to miss Ireland's European Championship trip to Amsterdam. Belfast Harlequins midfielder Colvin is unavailable due to work commitments while McFerran, who is undertaking a hockey scholarship in the United States, has a stress fracture in her foot.

The duo's absence means that just three Ulster players are in the 18-strong squad for the Dutch showpiece, scheduled from August 19-26.

Ulster Elks' Shirley McCay, who will edge closer to the 250-cap mark at the tournament, is joined by Belfast Harlequins defender Zoe Wilson and national team captain Katie Mullan (UCD).

Ireland, who secured promotion to the top-flight of the Euros by winning the second-tier event in 2015, will face England, Scotland and Germany in the first phase of the competition with the hosts, Belgium, Spain and the Czech Republic in the other pool.

Before arriving in Amsterdam, Ireland will travel to Belgium for a warm-up game on Monday.

Ireland squad: Katie Mullan (capt), Grace O'Flanagan, Hannah Matthews, Zoe Wilson, Shirley McCay, Ali Meeke, Elena Tice, Chloe Watkins, Gillian Pinder; Anna O'Flanagan, Sinead Loughran, Nikki Evans, Nicci Daly, Deirdre Duke, Emily Beatty, Roisin Upton, Yvonne O'Byrne, Clodagh Cassin.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph