Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Hockey

Pegasus lose for the first time as O'Flanagan wins it for champions

By John Flack

Anna O'Flanagan's tenth goal of the season in Saturday's 1-0 EY Irish League win over Pegasus in Dublin won't go down as a classic, but it could well prove vitally important later in the season.

There were just six minutes remaining when the Hermes-Monkstown and Ireland star deflected the ball high into the net giving Pegasus goalkeeper Sammy-Jo Greer no chance.

The result ended the Belfast team's perfect start and left the Leinster side at the top of the table ahead of Cork Harlequins.

However Pegasus captain Alex Speers drew plenty of positives from her team's performance against the reigning champions, despite her disappointment at the outcome.

The former Ireland captain said: "There were a lot of good aspects about our performance and we had several chances in the second quarter to score although they had us under a lot of pressure in the last part."

The Ulster Elks were the only local team to secure a positive result on Saturday, but they left it late in beating Belfast Harlequins 2-1 at Jordanstown.

There were just two minutes left when Emily O'Leary slotted home the winner, moments after Quins had a penalty-stroke decision reversed following Chloe Mitchell's equaliser. Amy Geddes had made it 1-0 to the visitors.

Results: EY Irish Hockey League: Loreto 4 Ards 1 (L McKee); Hermes-Monkstown 1 Pegasus 0; Ulster Elks 2 (C Mitchell, E O'Leary) Belfast Harlequins 1 (A Geddes); Pembroke 2 Cork Harlequins 4; Railway Union 2 UCD 4.

Ulster Premier League: Ballymoney 2 (E Kirgan, J Hamilton) Randalstown 1 (N Moore); Dungannon 1 (K Elliott) Lurgan 4 (J-A Wilson 2, S McClurg, L Wright); Lisnagarvey 1 (B Ravey) Queen's 2 (R McKee, A Hutchinson); North Down 1 (R Lucas) Banbridge 3 (P Haugh 2, R Kerr); Raphoe 2 (S Barnett, K Love) Portadown 3 (L Cassells 2, L McKimm); Senior One: Armagh 0 Rainey 5 (R Burns 2, C Burns, L Kelso, K Ferguson); CI Ladies 0 Larne 0; Cookstown 4 (R Hill, R McKeown 2, C Scott) Knock 2 (J Doak, L Elder); Mossley 3 (A Jones 2, Z McIlwaine) Ballymena 1 (K Young); Victorians 3 (E Conlin,J Orr, R Hewitt) Ballyclare 1 (C McCoubrey).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph