Belfast Telegraph

Beskorowany named Player of the Year as Belfast Giants dominate Elite League awards

Belfast Giants netminder Tyler Beskorowany (William Cherry/Presseye)
Belfast Giants netminder Tyler Beskorowany (William Cherry/Presseye)

The Belfast Giants have dominated the 2018/19 Elite League end of season awards, collecting over half of the accolades on offer after a stunning season.

The Giants, of course, won the Elite League title and the Champions Cup, narrowly missing out on an historic treble due to their play-off final defeat to the Cardiff Devils in Sunday's play-off final.

Unsurprisingly, those efforts have been recognised by the coaches and general managers from around the league, who voted for the individual awards at the end of the campaign.

Tyler Beskorowany received the top honour - named the league's Player of the Year, thanks to a steller first season in Belfast. Beskorowany was also awarded Netminder of the Year and included in the First All-Star team.

"It's been a great season all-around for the Giants," said Beskorowany."I could not have done this without my teammates and coaching staff - hats off to the entire team."

"The organisation, from top to bottom, have been great with me. The Belfast fanbase have been excellent and are a huge reason why we won the league and challenge cup this season."

Adam Keefe is the league's Coach of the Year - winning the 2018/19 Challenge Cup and Elite League titles in only his second season in charge.

Darcy Murphy was voted Forward of the Year and was also in the First All-Star team. Murphy, in his second season with the Giants collected awards for the Elite League's Top Goal and Top Points scorer with 39 and 79 respectively.

Josh Roach joined Beskorowany and Murphy in the First All-Star team with Pat Dwyer and Kyle Baun named to the Second All-Star team.

Full list of awards for 2018/19 Elite League season

Player of the Year: Tyler Beskorowany (Belfast Giants)

Coach of the Year: Adam Keefe (Belfast Giants)

Netminder of the Year: Tyler Beskorowany (Belfast Giants)

Defenceman of the Year: Gleason Fournier (Cardiff Devils)

Forward of the Year: Darcy Murphy (Belfast Giants)

British Player of the Year: Ciaran Long (Manchester Storm)

Young British Player of the Year: Jordan Cownie (Dundee Stars)

Top Points Scorer: Darcy Murphy (79 Points - Belfast Giants)

Top Goal Scorer: Darcy Murphy (39 Goals - Belfast Giants)

Top Assists: Mike Hammond (57 Assists - Manchester Storm)

Top Netminder: Tyler Beskorowany (2.25 GAA - Belfast Giants)

First All-Star Team

Netminder: Tyler Beskorowany (Belfast Giants)

Defenceman: Gleason Fournier (Cardiff Devils)

Defenceman: Josh Roach (Belfast Giants)

Forward: Joey Martin (Cardiff Devils)

Forward: Ben Lake (Coventry Blaze)

Forward: Darcy Murphy (Belfast Giants)

Second All-Star Team

Netminder: Ben Bowns (Cardiff Devils)

Defenceman: Calle Ackered (Guildford Flames)

Defenceman: Jesse Craige (Guildford Flames)

Forward: Pat Dwyer (Belfast Giants)

Forward: Charles Linglet (Cardiff Devils)

Forward: Kyle Baun (Belfast Giants)

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph