| 0°C Belfast

Adelaide Awards: Top riders battle for poll position as voting closes


Eugene Laverty

Eugene Laverty

Eugene Laverty

With just over a week to go to the Adelaide Motorcycle Awards on January 20, public voting online for the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year remains open until tomorrow to determine who will receive the coveted Joey Dunlop Trophy at the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Belfast.

Top performances by Irish racers here at home, in the British Superbike series, World Superbikes, and on the British motocross scene means it could be one of the closest finishes ever in the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year poll.

Details of how to vote to be found on the Adelaide website www.adelaideinsurance.com.

Those likely to figure strongly in the poll include defending Enkalon Motorcyclist of the Year Eugene Laverty, who was a double World Superbike race winner on his way finishing fourth in the 2011 championship in his rookie season, and Alastair Seeley, the British Supersport champion.

Seeley had a sensational season long battle with Ben Wilson, with the Carrickfergus rider also winning the only race to take place at the North West 200.

Michael Dunlop, TT Superstock race winner, triple winner at the Ulster Grand Prix, double Irish road race champion and Isle of Man Southern 100 solo champion, is a strong contender.

Kirk Jamison was both Irish and Ulster Superbike and Superstock champion and won the prestigious Adelaide Masters series while Keith Farmer won the British Superstock 600cc title at his first attempt, adding the Adelaide Masters Supersport title to his CV.

Ryan Farquhar clinched the Duke Road Race Ranking title for a record fourth season in a row.

Michael Laverty won three British Superbike races on his way to fourth in the championship while William Dunlop won two Irish road race titles.

On the motocross scene Martin Barr finished third in the British MX1 championship and second in the Red Bull Pro National series.

Belfast Telegraph