Belfast Telegraph

Adrian Pollock in scorcher as rivals crash out

By Sammy Hamill

It ended in cheers for Adrian Pollock but tears for Ivor McCullough and Jonny McMullan.

The new Euro Formula Ford 1600 Super Series got off to an explosive start at Kirkistown with Omagh driver Pollock winning both the qualifying race and the final in his Van Diemen car as race favourites McCullough and McMullan crashed out.

Reigning Northern Ireland champion McCullough and lap record holder McMullan had battled for the lead with Pollock keeping a watchful eye from third place position.

And when the inevitable happened, the two leaders taking each other out in a spectacular crash, Pollock was there to pick up the pieces.

He swept through to take the victory ahead of Noel Dunne and Derek M Daly. McMullan had the small consolation of lowering his own Formula Ford lap record. Earlier, Pollock had won the qualifying race which was red flagged after a crash involving Chris Paul and John Stewart. The Irish Ginetta Junior series returned to the Co Down circuit for rounds five and six and it was Jake Byrne who won both.

The Irish Formula Libre cars produced the fastest racing with wins for Eamon Matheson and Philip Shields. In the Saloon/GT race, poleman Pat McBennett took the honours in his Lotus. The new budget class Ford Fiesta series saw James Turkington win for the second time while Arnie Black, driving a Crossle 9S, won both Roadsports races.

l Keith Cronin, the first driver to win back-to-back British rally championships in 2009 and ’10, turned the clock back to win the third round of the BRC series, the Pirelli International in the north of England. He made his comeback on round two, the Bulldog Rally, finishing second in a Citroen DS3 run by the DGM team from Carryduff. But for the Pirelli he switched camps to an Autosport Technology Citroen and took the victory ahead of his new team-mate Jarkko Nikara.

Tyrone’s Mark Donnelly bounced back into contention for the British title with a strong third place in his re-built Renault Clio. He is fifth, two points adrift of Cronin and nine behind leader Elfyn Evans who finished fourth.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph