Belfast Telegraph

Bumper entry list geared up for annual Turkey Run Rally

By Sammy Hamill

It is the final fling of 2016 and a capacity number of competitors will descend on former Shackleton airfield Ballykelly tomorrow morning for the annual Turkey Run Rally.

The Maiden City Motor Club had to close the entry list early as scores of drivers - from seven-times Northern Ireland champion Derek McGarrity to motorbike ace Michael Dunlop - signed up for a last special stage run of the year.

Brothers, Derek and Alan McGeehan are out in force in their WRC Minis. Alan is listed at No.1 in the starting order with Derek at three, with Joe McGonigle sandwich between at No.2 as he continues to get to grips with his ex-David Bogie Skoda Fabia R5.

The WRC Ford Fiestas of Martin Cairns and McGarrity line up at four and five and John Bonnar completes the top six in his Ford Escort. Multi TT winner Dunlop is seeded 15th in another Mk2 Escort. The MJM-sponsored event starts at 9.30am.

√Will Corry and Peter Moreland-Moore in their Mazda MX5 won the It's Not the Boxing Day Rally in a photo-finish with the Toyota Starlet of Eamonn Byrne and Anthony Preston.

Byrne, a former winner, led for most of the day but a mistake on the penultimate section allowed Corry, competing in the semi-experts category, to close a four-second deficit and go on to win by just a 10th of a second.

Sam Wilson and Simon Brewster were third in their Mini ahead of the Mazda of Stephen Whitford/Phillip Morrow with Paul Mooney/Lorraine McMorrow (Vauxhall Nova) fifth and Chris Evans/Gillian Haydon (Mazda), the early leaders, finishing sixth.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph