| 9.5°C Belfast

Cavan victory gets Moffett's title challenge up and running



Top gear: Josh Moffett was start to finish winner in Cavan Rally

Top gear: Josh Moffett was start to finish winner in Cavan Rally

Top gear: Josh Moffett was start to finish winner in Cavan Rally

Josh Moffett put himself right back in the fight for the Triton Showers Irish National Rally title with a clear win on round three, the Cavan Stages.

The Monaghan driver is trying to emulate his brother Sam's 2017 championship treble, already leads the premier Irish Tarmac series with two wins and is fourth in the Irish Forestry Championship.

He and co-driver Keith Moriarty led yesterday's nine-stage rally from start to finish in the Moffett family's WRC Ford Fiesta, finishing more than half-a-minute ahead of the similar Fiesta of two-time national champion Declan Boyle with the WRC Subaru of Darren Gass in third place.

Despite missing round two in Kerry, Moffett has moved into the top four positions in the championship which continues to be led by Boyle.

Roy White, the 2016 champion, had been as high as third but dropped back after his Fiesta picked up a puncture and then Garry Jennings also lost third, dropping back to sixth, when his Subaru suffered a problem with the engine's ant-lag system.

So, after a tentative start it was Gass who came through strongly in the latter part of the rally to claim the final place on the podium.

Back after a three-year absence, the former Tarmac champion was using the Cavan event to acclimatise to the S14 Subaru, usually driven by Derek McGarrity, ahead of next month's Donegal International.

Derry's Joe McGonigle recorded his rest result of the series so far with fourth place in the McGeehan Motorsport WRC Mini, finishing ahead the WRC Fiesta of Donagh Kelly.

Matt Round Garrido swept to two convincing wins to increase his lead in the Dawson-WAM Northern Ireland Formula Ford Championship at Kirkistown.

The Birmingham teenager coupled Saturday's victories with two fastest laps in his Medina Sport and has now won five of the six rounds at the Co Down circuit.

Belfast Telegraph