Belfast Telegraph

Charlie Eastwood speechless after landing Porsche scholarship

By Sammy Hamill

An emotional Charlie Eastwood was left speechless as he was named winner of the Porsche Carrera Cup scholarship in London, an award which will see the 20-year-old Ulsterman race in the high-profile UK series for the next two years.

The former World karting champion from Belfast was chosen ahead of three other shortlisted drivers who took part in a series of on and off track assessments including driving a Porsche 911 GT3 Cup Car, high-intensity fitness tests and media workshops at Silverstone late last month.

The winner was announced at the end of the Carrera Cup awards ceremony on Saturday night where Eastwood emerged ahead of three English drivers, Sam Brabham, Ashley Crossey and Hannah Pym.

"No one knew who was going to get the scholarship right to the end so it was a very tense night," said his mum Suzanne. "Charlie's isn't the type to let his feelings show but he was quite emotional when the announcement came. He can't wait to get started."

Eastwood, who moved to Formula 4 racing in 2014 after winning the World Rotax kart title and then to the Formula Renault Eurocup series this season, will race in the Carrera Cup championship for the next two years, backed by Porsche GB with an £80,000 per season budget.

Meanwhile, Josh Moffett will to head to Wales Rally GB, Britain's round of the World championship, this week as the new Irish forest champion. But he so nearly saw the title slip away from him on the final round in the north Antrim of Springwell and Cam.

A puncture on stage four of the Glens of Antrim Rally threatened to de-rail his championship hopes as main rival Michael O'Brien challenged the Subarus of Desi Henry and Mark Donnelly for a top three position in his Ford Focus.

But there was drama to come as Henry, last year's winner, dropped out with damaged suspension and then O'Brien went off the road on the last of the six wet, slippery stages, leaving Moffett to go on to fourth place overall and the title.

Donnelly, recent winner of the Bushwhacker Rally, took the victory nearly a minute clear of Martin Cairns with Kenny McKinstry third, all in Subarus.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph