Belfast Telegraph

Colin Turkington is aiming to pick up where he left off at Snetterton in British Touring Car Championship

By Sammy Hamill

It started badly for Colin Turkington but the first half of the British Touring Car season ended on a high. Victories at Oulton Park and Croft have buoyed the two-time champion as the series resumes at Snetterton this weekend after the mid-season break.

The decision of his BMR team to switch to the all-new Subaru Levorg this year proved troublesome in the beginning but the car has been steadily improved with Turkington leading a revival which has seen him out-perform his much-vaunted team-mate Jason Plato and claim successive pole positions and wins.

He and Plato are still well down the BTCC standings which are headed by Sam Tordoff and Rob Collard from Turkington's previous West Surrey BMW team, but they will look to build on the marked step-up in performance from the Subaru in phase two of the season.

The Snetterton circuit in East Anglia also hosts rounds 13 and 14 of the UK Ginetta Junior championship in which 15-year-old Daniel Harper has had a starring role.

He is fifth overall and leads the rookie category in his first season of racing.

Charlie Eastwood will be in action, too, in the Porsche Carrera Cup where he is fourth and also the top rookie in the series.

Further afield, Steven Kane and Andrew Watson are in action in the biggest GT3 sportscar race of the year, the Spa 24-Hours event in Belgium. Kane leads the Bentley team and Watson is part of the McLaren Young Driver squad tackling his first 24-hour race.

Locally, Kirkistown hosts a round of the British Formula Ford SuperSeries in which one driver is selected to go through to a Road to Indy shoot-out later in the year.

Noel Robinson has been the dominant Formula Ford driver at the Co Down circuit but could face strong competition this time from last season's champion Jake Byrne.

The Northern Ireland rally championship resumes tomorrow with the Tyrone Stages based at Benone near Limavady, where reigning champion Derek McGarrity heads the line-up in his WRC Ford Fiesta.

Martin Cairns, also in a Fiesta, and former champion Kenny McKinstry in his Subaru lead the challengers.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph