Belfast Telegraph

Colin Turkington lead cut despite two wins

By Sammy Hamill

Colin Turkington dominated the fifth series of British Touring Car races at Croft in the north of England but still saw his lead cut at the top of the standings.

The Portadown driver scored back to back wins in the first two races in his eBay Motors BMW but was forced out of race three with clutch failure.

Turkington, who led by nine points at the start of the day, stretched his advantage to 20 after the first two races which he led from start to finish but was badly hurt by his retirement in the finale.

He goes into the summer break five points ahead of Gordon Sheddon with reigning champion Andrew Jordan, who won the final race, third.

Kris Meeke was upbeat after fighting back to finish seventh on Rally Poland, a World championship event which had promised so much more for the Citroen driver.

After losing more than 30 seconds as he sought to save the Citroen from damage in foot-deep ruts in Lithuania, but worse was to follow back in Poland on Saturday when a puncture cost him close to three minutes and he slipped to 11th.

He fought back to take seventh place as Sebastien Ogier won for the fifth time this season ahead of his VW team-mate Andreas Mikkelsen.

"It has been a frustrating event because we had good early pace. But overall I'm happy with my speed and it puts me in a good frame of mind ahead of Finland."

Alastair Fisher finished in second place behind Frenchman Stephane Lefebrve in the WRC3 division.

Daniel McKenna made it back-to-back wins in the British championship, following up his Jim Clark victory with another win in Scotland, more than justifying his role as this year's Pirelli Star Driver

McKenna steered his DGM Citroen home to a two-minute win over Callum Black with another Irish driver, Dean Raftery third and winner of the R2 division in his Ford Fiesta. Stanley Orr won the historic category in his Ford Escort.

For the second year in a row Garry Jennings led the Lurgan Park Rally from start to finish in his S12 Subaru, setting fastest times on all eight stages and winning by 13 seconds from the WRC Mini of Derek McGarrity.

Derek McGeehan was third in another Prodrive Mini with 11-times winner Kenny McKinstry relegated to fourth after persistent turbo trouble with his Subaru.

Kevin Barrett finished fifth with Paddy McVeigh sixth and Emma McKinstry seventh, all in Subarus. Wesley Patterson won the Escort Challenge in eight place ahead of Frank Kelly with Pat O'Connell topping the production category in 10th.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph