Belfast Telegraph

Connor McCloskey crowns winning run

By Sammy Hamill

Ulster drivers may have lost out individually in a disappointing climax to the British and BTRDA Gold Star rally championships, but it was far from a wasted weekend.

Collectively, they brought home the title of top team in the British series and Connor McCloskey ended up as Welsh champion.

For good measure, the Northern Ireland autotest team again retained the international Ken Wharton Trophy.

Alastair Fisher missed out on a podium place on the final round of the BRC, finishing fourth, just two tenths of a second behind the new champion Jukka Korhonen.

But with Mark Donnelly and Jonny Greer finishing behind him, David Greer's Carryduff-based outfit became Team champions.

There was success, too, for Monaghan's Daniel McKenna who wrapped up the R2 division of the series with a steady drive to 10th place in his Ford Fiesta.

Former NI champion McCloskey tied for first place in the UK's BTRDA Gold Star gravel championship after he finished second on the Cambrian Rally in Wales. But with Euan Thorburn winning the final round, the Scot took the title on a countback with four wins to McCloskey's three.

McCloskey's chances were scuppered after his Subaru's windscreen wiper motor failed.

But McCloskey ended up becoming Welsh champion because of his results based on the rounds of the BTRDA series held in Wales.

Meanwhile, the NI autotest team retained the Ken Wharton Trophy. The quartet of Steven Ferguson, Robin Lyons, Paul Blair and Paul Mooney, won at Alcester in Warwickshire.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph