Belfast Telegraph

Derek McGeehan seeks his second slice of Turkey Run Rally

By Sammy Hamill

Derek McGeehan, who won last year, heads a 90-strong line for today's Turkey Run Rally at the former Shackleton military base, Ballykelly (10am start). And the final event of the year is shaping up to be a re-run of 2013.

Draperstown driver McGeehan will line up at No.1 in his WRC Mini with the Ford Focus of Donagh Kelly, who was beaten into second place last year, right behind him. In the mix, too, is the other McGeehan, brother Alan, who was third last year in a WRC Toyota Corolla.

Desi Henry, who missed out on the Irish forest title on a tie-break despite victory in the final round, is another potential winner in his Subaru while Joe McGonigle will be under the spotlight as he uses the event to get to grips with an S2000 Skoda Fabia that was once driven by World champion Sebastien Ogier.

William Creighton, the 16-year-old from Moira recently named UK Young Rally Driver of the Year, heads the junior entry in his C1 Citroen.

Meanwhile, Robert Woodside and Dean Beckett came with a late run to win Saturday's (Not) The Boxing Day Rally in their Mazda MX5.

David Crothers and Barbara Kane, also in a Mazda, led for much of the way in wet, snowy, slippery conditions but lost time on the final section to fall back to second place.

Daniel Byrne and Kevin Fagan, who had led initially, finished third in their Toyota Starlet ahead of Mark Woodside and Andy Blair with Mark and Trevor Faulkner fifth, and Allan Harryman with Suz Graham sixth, all in Mazdas.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph