Belfast Telegraph

Devine also in race for awards with Eastwood


Callum Devine
Callum Devine

By Sammy Hamill

Callum Devine has joined another of Ulster's British champions in the final shake-up for two of Ireland's most lucrative motorsport awards.

Charlie Eastwood, winner of the GB Porsche Carrera Cup series, had earlier been named as one of three finalists in Motorsport Ireland's Young Racing Driver of the Year selection process and now Devine has been listed in the final three of the Young Rally Driver of the Year category.

The winner in each section will carry off a prize of €50,000 towards their planned programmes for 2018.

Devine, from Claudy, Co Londonderry, won this year's British Junior championship after a close battle with fellow Ulster driver William Creighton.

He joins Kevin Eves from Pettigo, Co Donegal, and Jonny Treanor, Scotstown, Co Monaghan in the final, with the winner to be announced at the Beta Irish Motorsport Awards lunch in Dublin on December 5.

The Young Racing Driver award will be decided between Eastwood, from Belfast, and two Formula Ford competitors - Jordan Dempsey from Mullingar, and James Roe, Kildare.

Meanwhile, Ulsterman Kris Meeke was outpaced by his young French team-mate Stephane Lefebvre during shakedown ahead of last night's start to Rally Australia, the final round of this year's World championship.

Lefebvre, the junior member of the Citroen team, was second fastest behind Hyundai's Thierry Neuville with Meeke fifth.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph