Belfast Telegraph

Fans put Seeley in early poll position

By Jim Gracey

The chequered flag has come down on another motorcycle racing season, signalling the start of voting for the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year.

For the first time in the history of the coveted award, bike fans can choose their favourite rider of the season by voting online. The winner will be presented with the famous Joey Dunlop yellow helmet trophy at the revamped Adelaide Motorcycle Awards in Belfast on January 20 next year.

Previous winner, former MotoGP star Jeremy McWilliams, is assisting the event organisers as a scrutineer of the public vote and he expects it to to be the closest call in many years.

Said Jeremy: “Our riders have excelled on the World, British and Irish stages, both on the short circuits and the roads, and that's what makes this year's vote such an intriguing one. I am encouraging everyone to get involved as we want the winner to be a true reflection of what our motorcycle fans think. They're a knowledgeable bunch and really know their stuff.

“Every local rider wants to be crowned the best in the country. To be handed the iconic Joey Dunlop trophy on the biggest night for our sport is something very special.”

Eugene Laverty from Toomebridge, who has just completed a memorable World Superbike season, is hoping to win the top award for the second year in a row but faces stiff competition.

The early leader in the polling which opened earlier this week is Alastair Seeley. He was recently crowned British Supersport Champion, capturing the title in dramatic fashion by winning the last race of the season at Brands Hatch. The Carrickfergus rider was also a winner at the International North West 200.

Other riders attracting a high percentage of the hundreds of votes already cast are Michael Dunlop, Jonathan Rea, Keith Farmer, and Kirk Jamison.

To vote, go to the Adelaide website For tickets, email or phone 07584058810.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph