| 7.3°C Belfast

Galway International Rally: McNulty’s long wait for glory over

Tim McNulty overcame flooded roads and his own traditional bad luck to finally win the Galway International Rally.

It is an event he has led several times in the past but more often than not mechanical failures or driving errors have cost McNulty dearly.

But this time, against a field which lacked a number of the top Irish names including last year’s winner and reigning Tarmac champion Gareth MacHale, the Meath man won by a massive four-minute margin from fellow Subaru driver Kevin Barrett.

McNulty led from start to finish to record a fourth career win in the premier Tarmac series. Barrett shadowed him all the way but never offered a serious threat.

Tommy Doyle finished fourth place in his Renault Clio with Sam Moffett and Ross Forde rounding out the top six in their Mitsubishis.

Leading Ulster contender, Circuit of Ireland winner Derek McGarrity, was an early casualty when his Mitsubishi retired on stage two with transmission failure. Meanwhile, Joe McQuillan snatched victory on the final stage of the Stephen Mawhinney Motors Rally.

Belfast Telegraph