Belfast Telegraph

Hamilton and Button on high for Silverstone

Sebastian Vettel may be a winner again, but it is Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button who head into their home race at Silverstone in a fortnight's time with their tails up.

On a bitter-sweet day for Red Bull Racing, Vettel was never ahead during a European Grand Prix that saw Mark Webber walk away from a frightening accident in which he somersaulted through the air.

After failing to win from pole in three previous attempts this year, Vettel finally cracked it to claim his second win of the season and ninth of his career.

But with Hamilton and Button also on the podium it means the last two world champions go into the British Grand Prix on July 11 first and second in the standings, and with McLaren leading the way in the constructors' championship.

“For myself, Jenson and the team, it is very, very positive to be leading both championships,” said Hamilton.

“We've been working so hard all year, and it is great we are now getting the results we deserve.

“But it is going to be interesting going to Silverstone. Hopefully we will be able to close the gap to Red Bull and really challenge them.”

Button knows the race will now be a special one for all concerned with McLaren, adding: “It is amazing for our team and amazing for us two.

“Two Brits heading into the British Grand Prix first and second in the championship.”

In chasing a third consecutive win this season, Hamilton ended by finishing runner-up for the third consecutive year in Valencia.

Final European GP positions: 1 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull 1hr 40mins 29.571secs, 2 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) McLaren 1:40:34.613, 3 Jenson Button (Gbr) McLaren 1:40:42.229, 4 Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Williams 1:40:55.198, 5 Robert Kubica (Pol) Renault 1:40:56.693, 6 Adrian Sutil (Ger) Force India 1:40:59.739, 7 Kamui Kobayashi (Jpn) BMW Sauber 1:41:00.536, 8 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari 1:41:02.380, 9 Sebastien Buemi (Swi) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:41:05.870, 10 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes GP 1:41:13.953, 11 Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 1:41:16.192, 12 Pedro de la Rosa (Spa) BMW Sauber 1:41:16.985, 13 Jaime Alguersuari (Spa) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:41:17.810, 14 Vitaly Petrov (Rus) Renault 1:41:17.858, 15 Michael Schumacher (Ger) Mercedes GP 1:41:18.397, 16 Vitantonio Liuzzi (Ita) Force India 1:41:20.461, 17 Lucas di Grassi (Bra) Virgin Racing at 1 Lap, 18 Karun Chandhok (Ind) HRT-F1 at 2 Laps, 19 Timo Glock (Ger) Virgin Racing at 2 Laps, 20 Bruno Senna (Bra) HRT-F1 at 2 Laps, 21 Jarno Trulli (Ita) Lotus F1 at 4 Laps.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph