Belfast Telegraph

Jonny ready to Leap into top spot

By Sammy Hamill

Jonny Greer will head the Irish challenge in the British championship division of the Todds Leap Ulster Rally.

Currently on a 5-4-3-2 run of results in the series since he switched from a Mitsubishi to an S2000 Skoda Fabia, the 23-year-old from Carryduff has his heart set on completing the sequence on his home round of the championship which begins from Antrim next Friday.

In the absence of Craig Breen, the winner last year, and Alastair Fisher, both contesting the World championship Academy round in Germany, Greer is the top seeded Irish driver at No.2 in the starting list.

Scot David Bogie, winner of three of the four rounds so far, heads the line-up in his Mitsubishi. The top 10 also includes the Ulster trio of Garry Jennings (Mitsubishi), F2 championship leader Marty McCormack (Citroen DS3) and one of his closest rivals, Mark Donnelly (Renault Clio).

The most heavily supported section of the rally is the British historic championship category which will see over 30 drivers crossing the Irish Sea to take part including Circuit of Ireland legend Jimmy McRae, the last of whose three outright Ulster International wins came 23 years ago.

At the other end of the historic scale is 21-year-old Manx student Connor Corkill who returns after winning in Ulster last year.

Based at the Junction One shopping complex, the rally kicks off from nearby Antrim town centre at lunchtime on August 19.

Top of the main entry lists:

Rally NI: 1 David Bogie (Mitsubishi Lancer); 2 Jonathan Greer (Skoda Fabia); 3 Elfyn Evans (Subaru Impreza); 4 Garry Jennings (Mitsubishi Lancer); 5 Alan Ring (Mitsubishi Lancer); 6 Martin McCormack (Citroen DS3); 7 Mark Donnelly (Renault Clio); 8 Tommy Doyle (Renault Clio); 9 Sam Moffett (Mitsubishi Lancer); 10 Alan Carmichael (Mitsubishi Lancer); 11 Peter Taylor (Renault Clio); 12 Siim Plangi (Renault Twingo); 14 Mikko Pajunen (Renault Twingo); 15 Desi Henry (Citroën C2R2).

Ulster WRC Rally: 1 Derek McGarrity (Subaru Impreza); 2 Tim McNulty (Subaru Impreza); 3 Daragh O'Riordan (Subaru Impreza); 4 Darren Gass (Subaru Impreza); 5 Kevin Barrett (Subaru Impreza); 6 Connor McCloskey (Subaru Impreza).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph