Belfast Telegraph

Kris Meeke can still prove his quality to Citroen at final round of World Rally Championship in Wales

By Sammy Hamill

Kris Meeke will lead a nine-strong contingent of Irish drivers on next month's Wales Rally GB, the final round of the World championship.

Currently fifth in the WRC standings and the only non-Volkswagen driver to win a round of the series this year, Meeke's future with the Citroen team remains unclear as he heads into his 'home' round.

The Welsh forests, where he has competed numerous times before, should be the perfect opportunity to challenge for a second victory to go with his Rally Argentina win but with Citroen sitting second in the manufacturers' championship behind VW, just four points ahead of Hyundai, the pressure will be on the Dungannon driver to play safe and deliver a team result.

He and co-driver Paul Nagle will start the Deeside-based event on November 12 in their regular No.3 position but further back they will be joined by familiar faces like the Moffett brothers, Josh and Sam, with co-drivers John Rowan and Karl Atkinson, at 22 and 23 in their WRC Ford Fiestas.

Craig Breen and Scott Martin are at 45 in what may well be their last appearance in the troublesome R5 Peugeot run by the French Sainteloc team and at 67 is Billy Coleman Award winner Dean Raftery with co-driver Arthur Kierans in an R3 Citroen.

Marty McCormack and James O'Reilly start at 75 in their S2000 Skoda; Jonny Greer and Kirsty Riddick, in their R5 Citroen, are at 85 and Pauric Duffy and Kevin Flynn are at 89 in their R5 Fiesta.

Bringing up the rear for the Irish squad is Rob Duggan, who earned his place as winner of the Carryduff Forklift Road to Wales competition in the Northern Ireland championship. He and co-driver Gerard Conway are at No.92 in their R3 Citroen.

Ulster co-drivers Marshall Clarke and Stephen McAuley will team up with Middle East drivers Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari and Mohammed Al Mutawaa respectively. Gordon Noble partners broadcaster Tony Jardine and Niall Burns is with Garry Pearson.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph