Belfast Telegraph

Le Man Series: Kane loses to The Stig

By Sammy Hamill

Jonny Kane finished his Le Man Series season with another class victory in the Silverstone 1000 kms race.

Kane and Strakka team-mates Danny Watts and Nick Leventis won the LMP2 category and finished eighth overall. But despite their outright victory at the previous round in Hungary it wasn’t quite enough to secure the LMP2 championship, the RML team of Tommy Erdos, Mike Newton and Ben ‘The Stig’ Collins finishing fourth and topping the points table.

Comber man Kane drove the first two-hour stint and established a solid class lead but when Leventis took over, the Strakka Acura was hit by another car and dropped to fourth but Watts came through strongly to regain the lead.

The JMW Aston Martin team, owned by Ulsterman Jim McWhirter, were denied a GT2 victory by a late drive-through penalty but still finished second ahead of the CRS Ferrari of Portadown’s Tim Mullen and Andrew Kirkaldy.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph