Belfast Telegraph

McGuinness first to hit Isle of Man milestone

By Paul Lindsay

John McGuinness may have complained of a lack of confidence prior to last night’s practice session on the Isle of Man, but the current King of the Mountain certainly didn’t show it, posting the first 130mph lap of the 2010 event to top the Superbike standings.

Flying machine: John McGuinness has posted out an early warning to his rivals at the TT

HM Plant Honda’s 15 times TT winner opened the session with a lap of 129.265mph, closely followed by Wilson Craig Honda’s Lincolnshire rider Guy Martin on 129.145mph. But on lap two, McGuinness was quickest in all sectors, averaging an astonishing 143mph from the start/finish to Ramsey. As expected, that average was reduced significantly by the time he made his way over the Mountain to Cronk ny Mona and through Governor’s ‘dip’ to the grandstand, but his 130.242mph lap was only 10 seconds shy of the outright lap record, which he currently holds.

McGuinness said after the lap: “Once I caught Bruce (Anstey) on the road I really tried on that second lap. I was held up from Ramsey all the way through to Tower Bends as there were few boys down there, and that probably cost me about three seconds. But yeah that’s a good time.”

Ian Hutchinson continued his strong start to TT2010 with the second fastest time late in the session, posting a lap speed of 129.164mph, but Ballymoney man Adrian Archibald was equally as impressive on the FB McKee GSX-R1000 Suzuki, only four seconds behind Hutchinson, with a lap speed of 128.618mph in fourth.

Relentless by TAS Suzuki’s Cameron Donald (128.011mph — 17mins:41.06s) was next up, followed by Keith Amor (127.925mph

— 17:41.78) on the HM Plant Honda. He in turn was only 8/100ths of a sec in front of Bruce Anstey (127.915mph), with Conor Cummins, Ian Lougher and Gary Johnson making up the top ten.

Local men topped the leaderboards in the Superstock and Supersport classes with Ryan Farquhar (KMR Kawasaki) and Michael Dunlop (Street Sweep Yamaha) respectively. Farquhar’s Superstock flying lap of 128.076mph was just five seconds ahead of Falkirk’s Keith Amor (127.525mph), who posted his time from a standing start on the Corless/Jackson racing BMW.

In the Supersport class Michael Dunlop continues to impress, holding his spot at the top of the leaderboard with a flying lap of 125.087mph (18mins:05.87s). British Supersport regular Ian Hutchinson was breathing right down his neck, less than a second adrift (125.020mph) with fellow Padgetts Honda rider John McGuinness third fastest, some 16 seconds down on his teammate. William Dunlop, Conor Cummins, Adrian Archibald, Bruce Anstey, Dan Kneen, Cameron Donald and Mark Buckley made up the top ten.

Crumlin’s Stephen Thompson took 80 seconds off his opening night’s debut lap, with a personal best time of 115.11mph.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph