Belfast Telegraph

McKinstry has plans to serve up Festival treat

By Sammy Hamill

Kenny McKinstry will head up the starting list for the rally section of the Festival of Speed at the old Maze prison site tomorrow (from 9am).

The reigning Northern Ireland champion from nearby Banbridge leads an all-WRC Subaru top four ahead of Irish national rally winner Kevin Barrett, John McGaffin and Ray Brammer from Norfolk.

The top 10 also includes the Ford Escorts of John Waring, winner of the 2010 Circuit of Ireland national Rally, Roy Haslett, Mervyn Wedlock and Mervyn Williamson plus the Mitsubishi Lancer of Willie Mavitty and the 4x4 Ford Fiesta of Sean Cassidy.

The six-stage rally will finish with two ‘Race of Champions style’ head-to-head stages using the fly-over bridge which was designed for the Stormont Super Special of Rally Ireland back in 2007.

It is part of an all-day motorsport festival which features a whole range of activities from autotesting to motocross, off-roading to the Flying Ryans motorcycle stunt team and an appearance by the iconic Eighties Group B rally cars of the Slowly Sideways club.

The Wild Geese parachute display team will also be dropping in.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph