Belfast Telegraph

Murray races to trophy win

By Sammy Hamill

It wasn't to be for Wayne Boyd but Niall Murray rounded off a stellar season by winning the last big Formula Ford race of the season, the Walter Hayes Trophy.

Already British champion, winner of the Brands Hatch Festival and the Martin Donnelly Trophy at Kirkistown, Murray was in dominant form at Silverstone in his Van Diemen with wins in the semi-final and final.

Boyd, who had turned back time to return to FF1600 after a season in the European Le Mans sports car championship, threatened to end Murray's run as he matched the Dublin driver through qualifying, beating him the heats and finishing a close second in their semi-final.

But, like last year, it all went wrong in the final. On a wet track, Boyd made a poor start, dropping to fifth in his Medina as Murray sprinted into the lead and as the 2014 winner from Templepatrick gave chase he tangled with Stuart Gough and spun off the track, falling back to 11th.

Boyd climbed back to seventh but Murray swept clear at the head of the field, wining by a massive eight second margin from Team USA scholarship driver Oliver Askew.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph