| 11.5°C Belfast

O'Hara races to third Donnelly Trophy triumph


Kevin O'Hara may have missed out on winning the Northern Ireland Formula Ford championship but he bounced back with a third victory in the season-ending Martin Donnelly Trophy race at Kirkistown.

The Kildare driver, who holds the FF1600 lap record for the Co Down circuit, returned from a mountain bike accident which left him with a broken elbow and wrist, to win the Donnelly Trophy, adding to his victories in 2013 and '15.

In a close finish, O'Hara took the chequered flag in his Van Diemen ahead of another two-time winner, Noel Robinson, with Jordan Dempsey in third. James Roe, who started from pole position, finished fourth.

O'Hara had been challenging Niall Murray for the Dawson-WAM NI championship until the bike accident forced him to miss the final round last month.

In Thailand, Richard Lyons was denied a first win of the season in the Japanese Super GT series when his Team Hitotsuyama Audi, which started from pole, retired with electrical failure.

Meanwhile, Peadar Hurson in his WRC Ford Fiesta scored a start-to-finish win in the Donegal Harvest Rally on Saturday, finishing just over a minute ahead of the R5 Skoda Fabia of Joe McGonigle with Ryan Loughran a further 20 seconds back in third in his Ford Escort.

The rally favourite, four-time winner Declan Boyle, crashed into a field on the first stage and although spectators helped get his WRC Fiesta back on the road, he lost close to 20 minutes and subsequently retired.

Belfast Telegraph