Belfast Telegraph

Quick-fire Seeley looks to lead from the front

By Roy Harris

Carrickfergus rider Alastair Seeley will start today’s opening race in the 2010 British Superbike Championship from the front row of the grid having qualified the Relentless by TAS Suzuki in third position just 0.2sec behind pole position man and former double BSB champion Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) and Worx Suzuki rider Tommy Hill.

The front row is completed by Motorpoint Yamaha rider Dan Linfoot while Seeley’s Relentless Suzuki by TAS team-mate Michael Laverty lines up on the second row having qualified in seventh position for the two 30-lap races.

Seeley, the reigning British superstock champion, who had been on the pace right from opening practice on Friday said: “It is great for me to start on the front row especially as this is my first full season on a superbike in BSB.

“It will be essential to get a good start in the two races today as it is a short lap and overtaking will be difficult. It will also be vital to get a good run in the first race as the fastest race times from it determines your starting position for race two.”

Meanwhile William Dunlop starts the British 125cc race from the third row of the grid in 11th position while in the 600cc superstock race Nikki Coates will line up in eighth position, John Simpson 11th and Nicole McAleer, on her debut in the class, 26th.

Marty Nutt is the best local qualifier in the supersport class in 11th position with Jack Kennedy 16th, Lee Johnston 17th, Paul Jordan 20th and Jamie Hamilton 32nd.

Three of the leading contenders for the Relentless North West 200 in association with Blackhorse, Steve Plater, John McGuinness and Conor Cummins start the1000cc superstock race tomorrow on the front two rows.

Closer to home and Marshall Neill from Portadown was the man on form at Bishopscourt on Saturday taking three wins from three starts, including winning the prestigious Enkalon Trophy Race for the very first time, in the opening three races of the Irish Superbike championship riding the Kingsbury Packaging Suzuki.

In race one he was 10 seconds clear of Mark Johnston with Australian Cameron Donald third and Denver Robb, having come from the fifth row of the grid, battling through to fourth.

In the Enkalon Trophy ISB race Neill led from start to finish to beat KP Suzuki team-mate Gerard Kinghan by seven seconds, the Randalstown man just fending off Donald and Johnston.

The third ISB race gave Neill his hat trick 2.4secs clear of Johnston who had Robb and Donald right in his wheel-tracks at the chequered flag, less than half a second covering the flying trio.

Michael Pearson and Donald shared Saturday’s supersport races while Robb won the two 250GP events just getting the better of Paul Robinson in both while Robinson raced to a winning double in the 125/Moto 450 races in which Ryan Farquhar, debuting his new Kawasaki 450cc machine finished second in both.

On three-wheels John Clarke and passenger Stuart Graham comfortably completed a treble in the sidecar races.

The action moves to the Ards Peninsula today where the Belfast and District Club host rounds four and five of the ISB series at Kirkistown, where Neill, Donald, Kinghan, Bruce Anstey (who had a miserable time at Bishopscourt), Robb, Robinson and company should be the front-runners in a 13-race programme.

The feature race of the day is for the Mayors Trophy which will be contested by the fastest 36 riders from the first set of ISB, supersport and 250GP events with the first race scheduled for 1pm.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph